Raw wav files for portability?

Hi all,

Given the nature or the library and the wonderful opportunity it represents, I’m surprised that more of the submitted samples are for specific players.

I’m fairly new to the world of electronic music production and I’m trying to bootstrap everything all at once and there’s therefore a pretty significant chance that I just misunderstand some of the basics, but I would have thought that more of the library instruments would have the raw WAV files available so that the community could provide support in building for a range specific instruments (Kontact, EXS24, or what-have-you).

I think that it might just be that I’ve hugely underestimated the effort to build an instrument from the samples, but I purchased Logic Pro a couple of weeks ago and was very excited to try out some of the instruments here, but as most of them seem to have been built for Kontact, no joy.

Christian’s original ‘how to sample’ page (https://www.pianobook.co.uk/how-to-sample) seems to suggest that he was thinking along similar lines, but as the library matures, dedicated Kontact instruments seem to becoming more prevalent.

If the raw samples were available, it doesn’t seem a huge step to provide a ‘supported instruments’ section for each set of samples so that the community could pile in and fill the gaps.

Could one of the more seasoned community members comment on whether the lack of raw samples is by design or accident, and whether it would be beneficial to encourage upload of the raw samples with every submission?

Also, it seems like the underlying .ncw files can be converted to WAV files by anyone with a Kontact license - would there be a benefit in backfilling all the instruments that only have Kontact support?

Hmm… most of the instruments on here already do include the raw files