Sampling pianos in fifths...why?

I’m new at this. Is there a specific reason why we’re sampling following the circle of fifths, as opposed to doing every key?

Thanks!

@tikihorea You can do it how you like, sampling in fifths just makes it easier than doing every single note on the piano. :slight_smile:

Oh okay. Thanks bunches!

Christian did explain why, in one of his vlogs

I must’ve missed that one, then.
Thanks for the tip!

I cannot remember which vlog it is, and I cannot look for it, at the moment, sorry!!!

Circle of fifths gives you a fair number of samples up and down the keyboard, and requires relatively little time to do while still sounding pretty realistic.

Sampling consistently is a game of multiplication, every step you do you have to multiply by the rest. So if you sample all 88 keys, then you need to multiply that 88 by every velocity layer you intend to do. And every round robin. And every pedal layer. And so on.

If I wanted 2 velocity layers for my instrument, multiplying that by the like 13 fifths is a lot less time than by all 88 keys. And a lot less worries about making sure each note is consistent and so on.

That said you’ll want to balance the number of notes with round robins and velocity layers, to get a better representation of the piano, otherwise you’ll end up with something that maybe has a good range but terrible dynamic range (cough 2 velocity layers cough).

I have a question about this too.

I know that Christian recommends sampling in intervals of 7 semitones for a piano.
But what about string instruments like guitars. Is an interval of 7 still appropriate for string instruments?

And is a good common number of velocity layers 4 layers, or do professionally sampled instruments have even more than that?

Again, it totally depends on what you’re sampling and what your goal is. There are many different stringed instruments, and many ways to play them.