Technical aspects of the pianobook project

Hello, and many compliments to all for the fantastic project.

I am a software engineer, and an hobbyist musician. I found this project and i really wish it well. Unfortunately I am not sure how much time I have to actively participating in this community, but, probably with much more enthusiasm than common sense, would still like to be able to contribute something.

My main question is: I understand that this community has a kind of relation with Spitfire Audio, but it’s unclear to me how deep this relation is?

As a software engineer I might contribute pieces that might overlap (if even by a tiny wee bit) with Spitfire products, and this makes me a bit unconfortable, as i really don’t want to step on anyone’s toes. I do want to respect anyone’s work!

Another question i might have, for a wider community is: without any promise as i am unfortunately not able to keep any, what kind of task would you like to be automated?

i was thinking to create a small “sampling template generator” to help personalising the template with different tempos, different voices, different progressions. It should be relatively easy to do, but i am questioning it’s utility.

i also was looking into the EXS format specification to try and automate all the “region mangling” i have seen in the youtube videos, but this, for me, would be a significant bigger effort and i am not sure i have enough spare time to study all the relevant technical details. this also may be a useless endeavour, as workflow and tooling is so personal, is difficult a hobbist level project can’t reach the polishness of some tools we may already use, like the redmatica sampling tools, or our preferred daws.

any ideas or feedback on this?

also, if there are questions that a software engineer might answer, i offer all the availability i am able to provide!